9 Songs, 1 Hour 15 Minutes


About Redemption

The brainchild of Los Angeles-based multi-instrumentalist Nick Van Dyk (guitars, bass, keyboards), Redemption proudly unfurl the flag of American progressive metal, as proven by their impressively rendered eponymous debut of 2003, also featuring vocalist Rick Mythiasin (ex-Steel Prophet and New Eden), bassist Jason Rullo (of Symphony X), and guitarist Bernie Versailles, on loan from the legendary Fates Warning. For their second album, 2005's The Fullness of Time, Redemption gained an additional boost with the guest presence of Fates Warning vocalist Ray Alder, and broke in another accomplished rhythm section in bassist James Sherwood and drummer Chris Quirarte -- both formerly of prog rockers Prymary. The band's sophomore outing, the Tommy Newton-produced Origins of Ruin, saw release in 2007, followed by the 2009 concert LP/DVD Frozen in the Moment. The Tommy Hansen-produced Snowfall on Judgment Day arrived that same year, and was followed by the aptly named This Mortal Coil in 2011, which was inspired by guitarist/keyboardist Nick Van Dyk's recent cancer diagnosis. Luckily, Van Dyk was declared cancer free shortly thereafter, and the band issued its second live album, Live from the Pit, in 2014. In 2016 the band released its sixth studio long-player, The Art of Loss, via Metal Blade. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

Los Angeles, CA



Listeners Also Played