“Castle Breakout, with its stunning photo-realistic 3D graphics and engaging set of puzzles, sets the highest new standard for the room-escape genre in 2017.” Some forge steel. Others do battle with swords.

Your task, as a security expert, is to make sure the castle is safe. Test the castle's updated security system, find the right clues and solve the challenging puzzles in this medieval escape game.

An experience so natural, you can almost feel the surface of each object.

Easy to begin, getting more complicated and hard to put down. calls Castle Breakout “The game that scratches that room-escape itch!”

What’s New

Version 3.9.0

Bug fixes

Ratings and Reviews

4.5 out of 5
323 Ratings
323 Ratings
Czech-it-out! ,

“E-moating” on a castle escape

I wasn’t too sure about this game at first, but it quickly grew on me. The locations were quaint and nicely detailed, the music was cheery, and the puzzles were uniquely fun to solve without being too hard (though I did have a couple of head-scratchers). Indeed I’m actually a little sad that there aren’t more levels, but I’ll be looking for more content from this dev, who, by the way, deserves credit for more responses to reviews than any other I’ve seen (some of them pretty funny, too). I appreciate that- it shows a level of caring that you can feel in the game, like the interactive feedback it prompts. My only question- and forgive me if this is just plain ignorant- the dragon flight level is just for fun and has no puzzle-solving element, right? Or am I missing something?

Developer Response ,

Wow, appreciate that amazing review!!! If only everyone talked like you do, haha.

So are we sad that there aren't more levels. Indeed we wish to produce more, but it takes that big coin jar, that we don't have at the moment.

Yes, the Dragon Flight is just for fun. You win $100 if you can think of a way to make it a puzzle...?!?!?! haha.

Ange7989 ,

It was fun

Update: Issue resolved I will have to contact apple because it wasn’t the apps error. I got quick responses from those in charge behind the scenes with this app which was unexpected but great.

The game was really fun. I didn’t understand the last level where you fly around. The only complaint I have is that I wish the game were longer.

I was really enjoying this game and I spent $5 for some hints - and I never received them. I thought maybe close and open again, or maybe the transaction didn’t process so I purchased the $3 bundle to test it. It charged me both times!!! Only the second time did I receive 10 shield hints. Nothing received for my first purchase.

Still haven’t seen the 30 hints I’m supposed to have. Don’t know how to contact these people but I hope that gets fixed because it’s a little messed up.

Developer Response ,

We spoke via email. Yes, Apple will refund you if necessary. I've always found them willing to refund if you tell them it didn't give you the hints. You are the first error such as this that we have gotten - so I'm suspecting a random Apple purchase-system glitch maybe...???

Here's the article:

RoRoBins ,

So much wrong

I’ve played over 100 of games in this genre. This is the first one I’ve rated as one star.
After spending $10 on hints, I finally went to AppUnwrapper’s site to figure things out.
I love The Room series, Da Vinci, The Eyes of Ara, so I know how to play these games.

When finishing a task, such as rearranging books, there is no signal that you have completed the puzzle. Makes for a lot of tedious back and forth.

A hint that says, “Maybe go back” counts as a hint. The other games I’ve played don’t count going back as a hint.

So many of the moves don’t make sense. Move a chair from the table, to a wall, and turn a gear? I never would have done that w/o $5 worth of hints.

I can’t tell you how many time I clicked on an item, only to use a hint, after which clicking the item works.

More than one inventory item can be highlighted at the same time. Nothing works when more than one item is highlighted.

There are inventory items that aren’t even used.

This game made me irritable. I don’t know why others like it. I’m on iOS 12.2 if that makes a difference.

May 1, 2019

Developer Response ,

Wow, first let me say - you win the prize for the most scathing review in 3 years, haha. Second, a big THANK YOU for saying some things that bug you that no one else has ever noticed. In the next update I fix those things - getting rid of extra game play that wasn't working. And making it so each click counts. Those things should be fixed!!!

We do not charge for the back button. You maybe "guessed" we must have charged for it but we do not.

If there are any cases of using a hint that suddenly makes possible an item - (I will pay you $25 for that set).. I don't believe it. That's suggesting we cheat to make hints necessary and I promise we do not do that.

Re-arranging books - I intentionally wanted there to be no signal. Or how else are you supposed to use your old brain to wit that you have successfully matched the color scheme?

THANKS!!! Take it easy RoRoBins...


Cloudburst Room Escape, Inc
147.2 MB

Requires iOS 9.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch. Apple TV.


English, Simplified Chinese

Age Rating
Rated 4+
© 2014 Cloudburst R.E.
In-App Purchases
  1. set of 10 shield hints $0.99
  2. shield hints set of 10 $2.99
  3. shield hints set of 30 $4.99


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like