EmRec has 2 basic functions. The first function allows users the ability to capture audio recordings as a basic voice recorder. To make it easy to manage the device's storage space, EmRec uses repeated recording of audio clips meaning that once the recording starts, it will continue until the user turns it off while it's in the foreground so that any important audio won't be lost (recording in Background has a limit of 120 minutes). EmRec will record a file using loop file number, overwriting the oldest file. This function is free and serves as the basis of the program. If a user taps on any button which requires a premium subscription, a purchase screen will be displayed, where the user can decide if he/she wishes to purchase. So users can download and start using EmRec right away.
The secondary function serves as an emergency utility which can help reduce or stop incidences of bullying, harassment, and violence. When a user who has purchased the premium mode (hereinafter referred to as “Subscriber”) of EmRec feels threatened, Subscriber can transmit an emergency SOS signal to a designated person (hereinafter referred to as “Emergency Contact”). Recorded audio files and subscriber location are sent to Emergency Contact, allowing Subscriber to feel more confident about his/her safety during an actual emergency.
The secondary function is a premium feature and must be paid for via an in-app purchase. After a purchase has been made through the Apple Store, "Emergency Mode" and "Anonymous Report" services will be enabled for the Subscriber to use.
Here is a brief explanation of each:
This feature is to be used when Subscriber feels he/she is in imminent danger.
The Subscriber will be able to send his/her location information via email and push notification to a loved one or a designated party of his/her choosing. An audio file of whatever was recorded during Emergency Mode will also be attached in the sent email.
This feature allows Subscriber the ability to report incidents anonymously in the event he/she wishes to conceal his/her identity. When the server receives request, the server will check the device ID and user email in our purchase history of Subscriber. After Subscriber has been confirmed as a legitimate user, the server will replace the "Email-from" in the email header in order to conceal Subscriber’s identity.
Emergency Mode can be activated by the following method:
1) Switch-On Method:
Subscriber can manually press a switch which will then activate Emergency mode. This method is typically used when Subscriber feels he/she is in immediate danger.
- Step by step Switch-On method instructions: a) Open app b) Switch on to “Emergency Mode.” (If user is using the free version of the app, a red screen alert will appear.)
We added a feature to show Emergency Location on the Map by tapping the notification.
With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.