1 Song, 3 Minutes


About Turbo Fruits

The Southern-fried punk project of guitarist/vocalist Jonas Stein, Turbo Fruits formed while Stein was still in the band Be Your Own Pet. The earliest version of Turbo Fruits also included Be Your Own Pet drummer John Eatherly; the duo added bassist Max Peebles for its self-titled debut, which was released in 2006 in the U.K. and the following year in the U.S. via Thurston Moore's Ecstatic Peace! label. Stein continued the band after Be Your Own Pet folded in 2008, adding bassist Wes Traylor and drummer Zack Martin for Turbo Fruits' second album, Echo Kid, though the pair would leave the band shortly before the album was released in fall 2009 on Fat Possum. That fall, the band also appeared in the movie Whip It. Stein later recruited drummer Matt Hearn and bassist Dave McCowen to fill in for the missing rhythm section, as well as adding second guitarist Kingsley Brock in 2010. A third full-length, Butter, would arrive in 2012. ~ Heather Phares

Nashville, TN




Listeners Also Played