Screenshots

Description

ExplorOz Traveller is a navigation app designed for use in Australia. The app includes maps, routes, & POIs but also allows you to add more.

USER ACCOUNT
You can use multiple devices sharing the same ExplorOz User Account. Access to Track Logging and Offline Map downloads is managed via the User Account. The app will also allow private data (Private Places, Private Treks) to be synced between all devices using the same user account.

ONLINE & OFFLINE RESOURCES
The app features a Data Manager with download buttons for the offline resources (Places, Treks, Comments, Offline Maps). Once these are downloaded, the resources are seamlessly integrated giving you a wealth of information without the hassle. New updates for resources are provided free.

MAPS
Maps are included for the whole of Australia. The app features a simple option to view/switch maps from 3 different sources:
1. EOTopo maps are available both online and offline
2. Streets & Paths maps - online only
3. Satellite maps - online only
The map screen will automatically switch to display offline EOTopo when service is disconnected.

OFFLINE MAPS
The app provides active navigation without the need for internet but requires GPS to obtain and display position data (Location Services). Please note that Wifi only iPads do not have inbuilt GPS so a Bluetooth GPS would need to be connected.
It is intended that app users will download the Premium Offline Map pack to enjoy the most detailed maps to a zoom of Level 14, which is a scale of 144K.

If you don’t have an EOTopo or Premium Offline Maps license, you will only be able to download the Offline Base Map. This base map covers the whole of Australia at a scale of 1:2.3 million. 24MB download, requires 39MB storage space.
The Premium Offline Maps license is an additional AU $49.99 and can be purchased in-app or from the ExplorOz website. The Premium license activates the 4 additional download buttons in the Data Manager for the higher resolution offline maps.

NAVIGATION
The map displays the Places data as Overlay options. There are 8 types of Places – Camps & Accom, Geography, Infrastructure, Heritage, Population, Recreation, Reserves, & Services. Clicking these markers allows activation of the "Go To" navigation control. Whilst nearly 90,000 Places are included, you can add Places of your own as required.

Navigation along any a Trek is also as simple as clicking “Go To”. This loads all the Places along the route you’ll need and includes distance between points, travel time between points and the ability to customise the Trek in your Nav Plan by removing or inserting Places.
Both Private Places and Private Treks are stored in your User Account and can be synced to your other devices in-app.

AUTO-ROUTING
With an internet connection you can build auto-route guidance for Place to Place navigation. These routes can be saved as Private Treks. Any Trek can be used for guided navigation when offline.

SNAIL TRAIL
You can activate the Snail Trail feature as an overlay feature in the map. This draws a line on your map showing the path you travel. The Snail Trail will continue to record and display until you clear it.

TRACK LOGGING (MEMBER SUBSCRIPTION REQUIRED)
Track Logging is a background feature that operates when the app is running and tracking is enabled. Position data is collected in real-time and stored in your device. When your device is online, position data is synced to your online account. A map showing your server tracking is displayed for your convenience on the home screen of the app and on the ExplorOz website (based on your security settings). This allows family/friends to view your tracking map as you travel. Server tracking data can be archived, saved and displayed in your account as a Trek. The data from these Treks can be downloaded in various file formats such as GPX, OziExplorer etc.

BATTERY USE
Continued use of GPS running in the background can decrease battery life.

What's New

Version 3.5.3

Updated Applied:
- Updated permission for Camera and Photo Library usage
- Adjusted scroll elasticity

Ratings and Reviews

4.1 out of 5
20 Ratings
20 Ratings
Redunes

Could Be A Great App

This app is quite useable overall, but needs some major improvements. Being constantly told to reset location services to allow 'always' is very very annoying. The app developer has said there is nothing they can do about this problem, but that is nonsense. It doesn't just happen when you open the app. It can happen just about anytime you touch the screen when using the app. Hema and Mud Map apps don't have this issue with location services. If you don't have any background tracking features turned on, why should the app 'always' have access to your location data? A total privacy invasion. If you have allowed location services 'while using app', then why is that never enough? No other map app I have demands this constant access to my location, even when not using the app. Please fix this. The maps included when you purchase the premium pack are quite good and detailed, but the rendering of each level of map scale is only good at one zoom level. Zoom above or below the optimum zoom level for that map scale and rendering of the map is poor and fuzzy. I'm using iPad Air2. With some refinement and location service bug fixes, I would rate the app much higher.

Developer Response

Hi Redunes, I do recall discussing this with you and I appreciate your feedback. Happy to further explain each of your comments. As you know, if you accept the request for location services at the time of installation you will not get these constant messages. The reason for the permission request is to ensure that if you take a phone call, or minimise or put the app in the background, that vital processes don't stop - eg. the position manager data recording, snail trail and voice/navigational guidance features all require the location services, not just background tracking. Technically, this is all coupled with battery management and by implementing a foreground only process will have serious impact on battery run time.
The issue with map rendering is that each odd level (eg. 9, 11, 13) is the 100% resolution of that scale, so 144K is zoom level 13. The even zoom levels are an overzoom (so yes there will be a little pixelation visible) but this is to give user access to enlarge without requiring significantly larger file downloads.

peterg1

A good app to understand and use

I have always believed with apps, that if I can not use the app intuitively within 5 minutes..then I trash it.
This is not one of those type of navigation, explore GPS apps you need a manual and a heap of patience to use.
It is within a few minutes you can understand the processes of this app and how to use it.
It needs some polishing.. it can be expensive to get some in app purchases to gain more detail..but the upgrades are fluid and the body of the app does not lose its simplicity.
Quite a good navigation app.

friends at cygnet

Great app and offline topo maps

Easy to use, plan trips, see what’s near where your going with nearly 90,000 points of interest such as camps pubs and historic sites.
Track logging is great, recently did 3200km outback trip and the app records the whole journey.
The maps are so detailed and you can zoom right in.
When you have data available you can change to online maps and satellite view which is great at home when planning trips.

Developer Response

Thanks for your positive feedback. Glad to hear it all worked to your expectations for your big trip.

Information

Seller
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd
Size
33.1 MB
Category
Navigation
Compatibility
Requires iOS 9 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.
Languages
English
Age Rating
Rated 4+
Location
This app may use your location even when it isn't open, which can decrease battery life.
Copyright
© 2018 I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd
Price
$59.99
In-App Purchases
  1. Premium Offline Maps $49.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members will be able to use this app with Family Sharing enabled.

You May Also Like