Description

TripView displays Sydney and Melbourne public transport timetable data on your phone. It features a summary view showing your next services, as well as a full timetable viewer. All timetable data is stored on your phone, so it can be used offline.

Features:
- View times for any saved trip with a single tap
- Real-time delay information and vehicle map (Sydney only, subject to data availability)
- Trackwork and service interruption information
- Interactive maps (create your trip by clicking on your station/stop)
- Alarms (arrival/departure, time/distance)
- Multi-modal trip editor (customise exact change locations / lines)
- View your favourite trips on Apple Watch

Realtime data is available for the following operators:
- Sydney Trains (Sydney metro area only, excluding Waterfall and the T6 Line)
- Sydney and Newcastle Buses
- Hillsbus, Forest Coach Lines, Busways Blacktown, Transdev North Shore
- Sydney Ferries
- Sydney Light Rail (excluding stops between Exhibition Centre and Central)

NOTE: Best efforts are taken to ensure timetable accuracy, but no guarantees are made. If you find an error in the timetable, please email support@tripview.com.au with details. No guarantees are made about real-time data availability. If the transit operator doesn't provide real-time data for a particular service, TripView will revert to showing the scheduled time, as per the timetable.

Alarms require iOS4 and a device that is capable of multitasking. Note: Continued use of GPS running in the background can dramatically decrease battery life.

What’s New

Version 5.6.3

- Added support for real-time bus accessibility information
- Added an option to show icons next to accessible services (under Tools/Settings)
- Added a 'Show Vehicle Type' option to the timetable/map page menu for Sydney bus services
- Fixed issue where bus vehicle markers were being shown under bus stop markers on the map
- Fixed layout on the timetable/map page for large font sizes
- Fixed Siri Shortcuts button in Voiceover mode

Ratings and Reviews

4.8 out of 5
125K Ratings
125K Ratings
poshlil ,

New version has an awful bug

Regretting updating to the latest version - previously this was so reliable and showed each bus as it passed my stop, with an indicator of whether it was late or early. Now it's showing them in my trip list as the time they're SCHEDULED to hit my stop, but without indicating whether they have or not - meaning that I have to click into that bus to see where it's tracking in real time. As Sydney buses are notoriously unreliable, you can see where this is headed. Of the five buses "next in line" on my timetable, four have actually already passed and are three stops up the road. Makes using the app very frustrating, and I would love if it reverted to the previous style, when real time tracking determined the order in which buses appeared. (Formerly I would have given this five stars, it's actually the one app I recommend to everyone, as it's been indispensable these past 4 years. This new "functionality", if that's what it is, has turned what I considered an exceptional app into a very average one, no better than the fixed timetables at each stop; basically, I'm turning up and hoping for the best.)

Developer Response ,

Thanks for the feedback. We haven't made any changes in this area, and haven't been able to reproduce this problem. Perhaps it's a data issue specific to your stop. If you can provide more details (e.g. some screenshots showing the problem) we can certainly take a look.

PenguinBritt ,

Convienient and Informative

A fantastic app for someone who’s constantly using public transport. It updates with delays and incidents as they happen and gives you the option of other linking services if your regular service is cancelled or rerouted for whatever reason. It would be nice if you could turn on notifications for when your regular service has a delay or cancellation so I don’t have to constantly check the app just in case.

My only real complaint is that I’ve had issues accessing the 887 timetable from my selected destinations as it says there are no services when they are available to use and are for view on the TripView website. Please fix this.

Otherwise a brilliant app!

Developer Response ,

Thanks for the feedback! Regarding the 887, it's looking okay here. The issue might be specific to the stops that you've selected. If you get in touch with TripView support and let us know the exact source & destination stops that you're using, we'll be able to take a look.

ByJim ,

Great app - almost

TripView is a great app, user friendly and up to date, however there are a few mods that would be good:
- would be good to display how long each trip takes, so that it is easier to compare different trips (I find myself manually calculating these)
- while there is a setting to not auto load all trips for the watch app, it still seems to search all trips because it is very slow to load the watch app if there are a lot of trips defined on the phone. The watch app needs to be quick above all else.
- doesn’t handle mixed mode trips (bus and train for example)

Developer Response ,

Thanks for the feedback. There should be an icon in the bottom right corner that looks like two overlapped squares. If you press that a few times, it should show you the total time for each trip. Currently the watch app relies heavily on communication with the phone, and this can sometimes be very slow. I'm looking into ways to speed this up.

Information

Seller
TripView Pty Ltd
Size
23.8 MB
Category
Travel
Compatibility

Requires iOS 8.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

Languages

English

Age Rating
Rated 4+
Location
This app may use your location even when it isn't open, which can decrease battery life.
Copyright
© 2008 - 2019 TripView Pty Ltd
Price
$4.49

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members will be able to use this app with Family Sharing enabled.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like