Top Songs


Music Videos

Singles & EPs

About Methyl Ethel

Taking their name from a colorless, sweet-smelling organic compound frequently used as an industrial solvent, Aussie indie rockers Methyl Ethel employ a heady blend of breezy dream pop and soaring psych-rock that lands somewhere between Tame Impala, Syd Barrett-era Pink Floyd, and MGMT. Based out of Perth, the trio features the talents of guitarist/vocalist Jake Webb, bassist Thom Stewart, and drummer Chris Wright. Originally started in 2013 by Webb as a four-track recorder project, the band's first two EPs were purely solo affairs. The first proper band outing, Oh Inhuman Spectacle, was also Methyl Ethel's inaugural long-player. It was released in May 2016 via 4AD Records. They wasted no time starting work on their sophomore record, and Everything Is Forgotten appeared in early 2017. The band enlisted James Ford (Simian Mobile Disco, Klaxons, Arctic Monkeys) to co-produce the record, and the resulting set of songs was punchier and more direct than their debut. ~ James Christopher Monger

Perth, Australia

Similar Artists