Videovuokraamon Tyttö - Single by Herra Ylppö on Apple Music

1 Song


About Herra Ylppö

The frontman of the popular Finnish rock band Maj Karma, Herra Ylppö is a singer/songwriter who made his solo debut in 2008 with the chart-topping hit album Sata Vuotta. Born Mikko Kalevi Mäntymäki on March 16, 1973, in Harjavalta, Finland, he co-founded the band Maj Karma in 1992. In addition to Ylppö, the band is comprised of Häiriö Piirinen (guitar), Kimmo Kurittu (bass), and Janne Savolainen (drums). Maj Karma released a series of demo recordings titled Kansanmusiikki Nyt before making their full-length album debut in 1996 with Kaukana Puhelimista. Subsequent albums include Kaakao (1998), Aäri (2000), Rautaneito (2001), and Metallisydän (2003). Maj Karma had a banner year in 2004 with the number three smash hit single "Kyynel" and the Top Ten hit album Sodankylä. The follow-up album, Ukkonen (2006), was an even greater success, topping the Finnish albums chart and logging 19 weeks overall on the chart. The album includes the number two smash hit single "Rukous." In the wake of Ukkonen's chart-topping success, Ylppö embarked on a solo career and formed the backing band Ihmiset, comprised of Hamid Moeini (guitar), Jami Westergård (bass), Joona Kukkola (keyboards), and Jukka Kröger (drums). Herra Ylppö & Ihmiset, as they billed themselves, made their full-length album debut in 2008 with Sata Vuotta. A number one smash hit on the Finnish charts, Sata Vuotta spawned the Top Five hit "Sata Vuotta" and the follow-up singles "Videovuokraamon Tyttö" and "Kleopatra," the latter released as an EP. After a concert tour in support of Sata Vuotta, Ylppö rejoined Maj Karma for the band's eighth album, the Top Five hit Salama (2009). ~ Jason Birchmeier

Top Songs by Herra Ylppö

Top Albums by Herra Ylppö

Top Music Videos by Herra Ylppö

Listeners Also Played