Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Dmitry Shostakovich: A Portrait (Enhanced...

This book is available for download with iBooks on your Mac or iOS device, and with iTunes on your computer. Books can be read with iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


Includes audio extracts

Dmitry Shostakovich (1906–1975) achieved international success when still in his teens. He went on to become the leading light in Russian music of the Soviet era and a mainstay of concert halls in Europe and America. Yet this fame was to be increasingly accompanied by debate between East and West over just what his music was about — an ideological battle that has only intensified in the decades since his death. This iBook presents a detailed outline of Shostakovich’s achievement. This iBook includes 2½ hours of music from nine symphonies, two string quartets, two ballet suites, Piano Concerto No. 2, The Gadfly, Hamlet and other works, as well as Shostakovich himself playing the piano and making a radio address.

Audio samples are contained in the text: just tap to listen while you read.

Dmitry Shostakovich: A Portrait (Enhanced...
View in iTunes
  • $8.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Music
  • Published: Jan 09, 2011
  • Publisher: Naxos Books
  • Seller: Naxos of America
  • Print Length: 98 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings

We have not received enough ratings to display an average for this book.

More by Richard Whitehouse