12 Songs, 1 Hour 18 Minutes


About Euclid Quartet

Founded in 1998 in Cleveland, OH, the Euclid Quartet takes its name from Euclid Avenue, the location of Severance Hall and other cultural landmarks in the city. Originally formed by violinists Jameson Cooper and Jacob Murphy, who were friends at Kent State University, the quartet included violist Luis Enrique Vargas, and cellist Amy Joseph, who was later succeeded by David Beem, then by Si-Yan Darren Li. The ensemble quickly rose to prominence by winning the Hugo Kauder International Competition for String Quartets, the Carmel Chamber Music Competition, and the Osaka International Chamber Music Competition. With members hailing from Great Britain, the United States, Venezuela, and China, the Euclid has prided itself on its cultural diversity and individuality, and each player has lent a distinctive character to the quartet's sound. In 2007, the Euclid Quartet was named quartet in residence at Indiana University, where each musician teaches private lessons and coaches chamber ensembles. After recording the string quartets of Hugo Kauder for Centaur Records, the Euclid Quartet embarked on a project to record the six string quartets of Béla Bartók on the Artek label.