Opening the iTunes Store…If iTunes doesn’t open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

John Prine

American Music Series - In Spite of Himself

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


From singing mailman to Nashville legend, John Prine traces the crooked road traveled by the brilliant songwriter responsible for “Angel from Montgomery,” “Sam Stone,” “Paradise,” and “That’s the Way That the World Goes ’Round”.

From Publishers Weekly

Feb 02, 2015 – In 1970, the late Roger Ebert wrote of John Prine's performing style in the Chicago Sun-Times: "He appears on the stage with such modesty that he almost seems to be backing into the spotlight.... He starts slow. But after a song or two, even the drunks in the room begin to listen to his lyrics. And then he has you." In the same way, music critic Huffman slowly backs into this fan's notes and heartfelt appreciation of Prine and his music. Weaving well-known biographical details (Prine was a mail carrier in Chicago when he got his start) into meticulous sketches of the making of each album and reviews of those albums Huffman offers an admiring portrait of an often restless though always canny songwriter. Reflecting on Prine's eponymous 1971 debut album, Huffman points out that "everything his fans would come to love about him drama, humor, memorable characters, great stories, a badass outsider stance offset by a reverence for tradition could be found, fully developed... the recordings showed ample room for Prine to grow as a musician... but the songs were built to last." Two years later, on the album Sweet Revenge, Prine "sounded fully integrated with backing musicians, and he once again rose to the challenge of writing a compelling batch of tunes." In the 1980s, Prine started his own record label, Oh Boy, and in 1991, he released The Missing Years, which Huffman calls Prine's Born to Run or Damn the Torpedoes, a swaggering rock statement that fully realized his potential." Huffman's book will make us want to pick up Prine's albums and listen to them once again or for the first time.
John Prine
View in iTunes
  • $24.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Biographies & Memoirs
  • Published: Mar 15, 2015
  • Publisher: University of Texas Press
  • Seller: University of Texas at Austin
  • Print Length: 224 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: American Music Series
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings

We have not received enough ratings to display an average for this book.