iTunes

Ouverture de l’iTunes Store en cours…Si iTunes ne s’ouvre pas, cliquez sur l’icône iTunes dans votre Dock Mac ou sur votre bureau Windows.Progress Indicator
Ouverture d’Apple Books.Si Apple Books ne s’ouvre pas, cliquez sur l’app Livres dans votre Dock.Progress Indicator
iTunes

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

Impossible de trouver iTunes sur votre ordinateur. Pour profiter de l’iTunes Store, téléchargez iTunes maintenant.

Vous avez déjà iTunes? Cliquez sur « J’ai iTunes » pour l’ouvrir maintenant.

I Have iTunes Téléchargement gratuit

Unorthodox

The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Vous pouvez télécharger et lire ce livre sur Apple Books sur votre Mac ou un appareil iOS.

Description

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

L’avis de : Publishers Weekly

10 oct. 2011 – Born into the insular and exclusionary Hasidic community of Satmar in Brooklyn to a mentally disabled father and a mother who fled the sect, Feldman, as she recounts in this nicely written memoir, seemed doomed to be an outsider from the start. Raised by devout grandparents who forbade her to read in English, the ever-curious child craved books outside the synagogue teaching. Feldman s spark of rebellion started with sneaking off to the library and hiding paperback novels under her bed. Her boldest childhood revolution: she buys an English translation of the Talmud, which would otherwise be kept from her, so that she might understand the prayers and stories that are the fabric of her existence. At 17, hoping to be free of the scrutiny and gossip of her circle, she enters into an arranged marriage with a man she meets once before the wedding. Instead, having received no sex education from a culture that promotes procreation and repression simultaneously, she and her husband are unable to consummate the relationship for a year. The absence of a sex life and failure to produce a child dominate her life, with her family and in-laws supplying constant pressure. She starts to experience panic attacks and the stirrings of her final break with being Hasidic. It s when she finally does get pregnant and wants something more for her child that the full force of her uprising takes hold and she plots her escape. Feldman, who now attends Sarah Lawrence College, offers this engaging and at times gripping insight into Brooklyn s Hasidic community.

Avis des utilisateurs

Download problem

Just downloaded the book and I only got 42 pages.

Good read

Enjoyable and fascinating to learn about the community she came from.

Wonderfully

I really enjoyed this book, the history of the people and the courage of the author. You should be very proud of the book.

Hope we will see this as a movie one day.

Unorthodox
Afficher sur iTunes
  • $11.99
  • Disponible sur iPhone, iPad, iPod touch et Mac.
  • Catégorie : Biographies et mémoires
  • Sortie : 14 févr. 2012
  • Éditeur : Simon & Schuster
  • Vendeur : Simon & Schuster Canada
  • Pages : 272
  • Langue : Anglais
  • Configuration requise : Ce livre peut uniquement être lu sur un appareil iOS doté d’Apple Books et fonctionnant sous iOS 12 (ou une version ultérieure), ou doté d’iBooks 1.3.1 (ou une version ultérieure) et fonctionnant sous iOS 4.3.3 (ou une version ultérieure), ou encore un Mac doté d’iBooks 1.0 (ou une version ultérieure) et fonctionnant sous OS X 10.9 (ou une version ultérieure).

Note