Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn’t open, click the iTunes icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music by [?], download iTunes now.

Do you already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Erase Errata

View In iTunes

To preview a song, mouse over the title and click Play. Open iTunes to buy and download music.


The music of Erase Errata has been compared to such eclectic experimentalists as Captain Beefheart, the Minutemen, and the Dog Faced Hermans, due to the fact that the group possess an uncanny knack of improvising on the spot (claiming that they could improvise a whole set if pressed to). Originally comprised of members Jenny Hoyston (vocals and trumpet), Ellie Erickson (bass), Bianca Sparta (drums), and Sara Jaffe (guitar), Erase Errata formed in San Francisco in December of 1999, when the group jammed in the vacant room of one of Sparta and Hoyston's roommates. The quartet immediately proved that they had a solid chemistry, penning ten original tunes in the span of a half-hour. After spending six weeks during the fall of 2000 touring alongside the likes of Melt Banana and Le Tigre, Erase Errata issued a split single with Brooklyn, New York-based noise rockers Black Dice on the Troubleman label. A year later, Erase Errata's full-length debut Other Animals arrived (also via Troubleman). In 2002, the band released a split single with electro-rockers Numbers, and in spring 2003, Dancing Machine, a remix album featuring Adult., Kid 606, and Matmos, arrived. Meanwhile, Hoyston worked on her other project Paradise Island, releasing the debut album, Lines Are Infinitely Fine, that summer on Dim Mak. Erase Errata's long-awaited second album, At Crystal Palace, came out in fall 2003. The following year, Jaffe left the band, and Hoyston, Erickson, and Sparta released their first album as a trio, Nightlife, in 2006 on Kill Rock Stars. The label also released the 2010 7" Damaged before the band went on hiatus. In 2012, the group reconvened as part of the artist-in-residence program of Iowa City's Mission Creek Music Festival. Working with producer/engineer Luke Tweedy, the trio improvised and polished the seven songs that became 2015's Lost Weekend. After a string of performances promoting the album, the band announced via a press release that their two Texas shows in October 2015 would be their last before breaking up. ~ Greg Prato

Top Songs