Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn’t open, click the iTunes icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music by [?], download iTunes now.

Do you already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Dirty On Purpose

View in iTunes

To preview a song, mouse over the title and click Play. Open iTunes to buy and download music.


A shoegazer-inspired indie band from New York City, Dirty on Purpose were part of the continuum of atmospheric guitar-oriented rockers with alternating male and female vocals that includes Sonic Youth, Yo La Tengo, and My Bloody Valentine, as well as cult favorites like Antietam, Come, and Sleepyhead. Formed in Brooklyn in 2002, Dirty on Purpose originally consisted of keyboardist Erika Forster, guitarist Joseph Jurewicz, and drummer Doug Marvin (all of whom shared lead vocal duties), plus non-singing guitarist George Wilson and bassist D.J. Boudreau. Following a self-titled and self-released four-track EP released in 2003, Dirty on Purpose made a bigger splash with 2004's Sleep Late for a Better Tomorrow. Following the release of that debut effort, Forster left the band to start her own group, the electronically oriented Au Revoir Simone, which released the debut album Verses of Comfort, Assurance & Salvation in early 2006. After adding Wilson to fill the third lead singer spot, with occasional help from guest female vocalists, the slimmed-down Dirty on Purpose released their second album, Hallelujah Sirens, in May 2006. A pair of EPs followed in 2008; by the end of the year, however, Dirty on Purpose had decided to call it quits, with a New Year's Eve show in Manhattan marking their final gig. ~ Stewart Mason

Top Songs