Die Mayrhofner

The folk group Die Mayrhofner was founded in the Austrian Zillertal in 1997, originally as a trio. Following the dissolution of this lineup, heroically mustachioed singer and violinist Erwin Aschenwald formed a new band consisting of his sons Erwin Aschenwald, Jr. (accordion, keyboards, vocals) and Michael Aschenwald (drums), and guitarists Thomas Partl and Ulli Huber. After the first album with the new lineup, Halli Galli, appeared in 2000, the group became something of an institution, releasing at least one new album nearly every year, their absolutely authentic and undiluted Tyrolean folk music born out of a genuine love for tradition rather than any marketing gimmick. ~ John D. Buchanan

Top Songs

Latest Release