Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn’t open, click the iTunes icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music from Welcome Home Armageddon by Funeral for a Friend, download iTunes now.

Do you already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Welcome Home Armageddon

Funeral for a Friend

Open iTunes to preview, buy and download music.

Album Review

It isn't hard to understand why some listeners have become burned out on the whole post-hardcore/screamo/melodic hardcore sound; one could write a book about all the forgettable and totally faceless screamo bands that flooded the market in the 2000s and managed to score label deals despite their lack of memorable songs. But Funeral for a Friend have been one of the more impressive screamo bands; they beat much of the competition when it comes to successfully integrating melodic elements and hardcore elements. Welcome Home Armageddon has something missing from all the cookie-cutter screamo albums that have flooded the market in the 21st century: an honest to God sense of pop/rock craftsmanship. Funeral for a Friend have the hardcore element down, but they also know how to bring the hooks; "Spinning Over the Island," "Broken Foundation," "Sixteen," and other tracks on Welcome Home Armageddon are hooky and infectious in a way that so many of the less memorable screamo recordings are not. Funeral for a Friend play this material like the mean it; they play the hardcore elements convincingly, and they are equally convincing when delivering pop/rock hooks and pop/rock melodies. Of course, some hardcore purists and metalcore hard-liners will find Welcome Home Armageddon to be problematic simply because of the pop/rock factor; those are the folks who would argue that the term "melodic hardcore" is an oxymoron. But then, Welcome Home Armageddon obviously wasn't recorded with hardcore purists in mind. This album is for those who like screamo, but only when it is well done — and while Welcome Home Armageddon isn't quite in a class with 2005's Hours or 2007's Tales Don't Tell Themselves, this 2011 release nonetheless indicates that Funeral for a Friend have a lot of life left in them.

Customer Reviews

Different but still great

For any person who has ever heard any FFAF songs or just heard of the band, they should know that this band are known for their complex guitar riffing which are high-impact in the verses and melodic in the Choruses. This album is no real different to that, but due to the change of line-up between Memory and Humanity and this album, there is a change of style that can be heard.
The original track listing was:
1. This Side Of Brightness - a slow, mellow intro track which is used to sooth and relax the listener before going straight into track two...

2. Old Hymns - this track starts off heavy yet not sounding seperate from This Side Of Brightness. This track truely gets you kick-started into the album and is a strong track 9/10

3. Front Row Seats To The End Of The World - the first single off of the album and, unfortunatly the weakest song on it. It's not a bad song, it is just not up to the usual standard of melodic vocals and guitars which FFAF are usually capable of. 6/10

4. Sixteen - The second single from this album. This song also featured on the The Young And Defenceless EP. If there is one song you are going to listen to on the album, make it this one, as it epitomises everything that FFAF stand for. A Great catchy guitar riff in the verse and a melodic guitar lick over the fantastic vocals and drums in the chorus. One of the best songs on the album for sure 10/10

5. Aftertaste - Another great song with punchy guitars and catchy vocals. The chorus to this song will be stuck in your head for quite a while after only one or two listenings to this song. And that is NOT a bad thing. 10/10

6. Spinning Over The Island - This is one of the heaviest songs on the album, from the gut-wrenching guitar licks of the intro to the screaming vocals of the verse, this one is sure to be a hit with anyone who likes heavy music. The chorus is clean vocally which is a nice mix and makes the song very well rounded. 8/10

7. Man Alive - The drum intro to this song sets up the idea for the whole song. The dueling guitar licks in the verse with the heavy vocals make a nice sound, and lead into the softer catchy chorus for a very strong song 9/10

8. Owls Are Watching - one of the softer songs on the album, but still makes for a great listen. The vocals on this really make this a standout song on this album and one that at first may not seem like it, but may become a favourite with fans. 9/10

9. Damned If You Do, Damned If You Don't - The second of the album's track to have appeared on The Young And Defenceless EP. This song is very fast paced and is littered with fantastic bass lines, guitar-lines and a great vocal track which will have you singing along to the chorus in no time. 10/10

10. Medicated - The song starts clean with a lovely guitar line. When the second guitar comes in you can hear it's going to start getting good. The bass line and drums add a certain dynamic to the song which make it a fantistic. The chorus is probably the best on the album with a great vocal line and brilliant backing vocal harmonies 10/10

11. Broken Foundations - The heaviest song on the album, and also the only song with what people would call a proper guitar solo, which is magnificent. The heavy verses and riffs are brilliantly contrasted by the melodic choruses which again will have you singing along by the end of the song. 10/10

12. Welocme Home Armageddon - The final track of the original album. The strong guitars and lovely melodies throughout this song make it a must-listen. The vocal outro make this ending to the album fantastic 10/10

Overall, I'd say the album is 9/10, only weakened by Front Row Seats and by comparing it to previous works such as Tales Don't Tell Themselves or Hours. But as a standalone piece deserves recognition

The two bonus tracks Breakdown Avenue and Symbolism In The Neighbourhood were only added to the iTunes version of the album after it had been released. As I pre-ordered it from the band's site (where they paid for the album by making promises to those who pre-ordered it) I haven't heard them enough to review them. The same goes with the 2 demo songs and Sixteen acousitc

Really Worth Your Money :)

Its nothing like there other albums which is either a good thing or a bad thing depenting on your view but I think that this is a brillient album that would make any CD collection. Plus add-
Black Veil Brides
Avenged Sevenfold
Escape the Fate
Bullet for my Valeentine

But I think that you should really buy this album as I will be doing.


Formed: 2001 in Bridgend, South Wales

Genre: Rock

Years Active: '00s, '10s

Funeral for a Friend's energized blend of emo, metal, and post-hardcore was created by vocalist Matt Davies, guitarists Kris Roberts and Darran Smith, bassist Gareth Davies, and drummer Randy Richards. The Welsh quintet first appeared in 2002 with a series of EPs and singles, including Between Order and Model, Four Ways to Scream Your Name, and Juneau. Such releases helped land the group on the cover of Kerrang! magazine, a recognition of the band's growing hype that, in turn, earned a record deal...
Full bio
Welcome Home Armageddon, Funeral for a Friend
View In iTunes

Customer Ratings