1 Song, 3 Minutes


About Pronto Mama

Hailing from Glasgow, Scotland, Pronto Mama are a six-piece alternative indie rock outfit known for their distinct jazz-laden songs, unconventional time signatures, and infectious pop melodies. Formed in 2011, the band was initially made up of Marc Rooney (vocals, guitar), Ciaran McEneny (vocals, keys, guitar), Michael Griffin (bass), and Martin Johnston (drums). The four boys jammed in their bedrooms during study time as a means of escaping the everyday life of East-End Glasgow. With the eventual addition of Alex Sharples (trumpet, keys) and Craig McMahon (trombone, keys, percussion), the lineup was complete and Pronto Mama was officially born. Getting to work on penning their own songs, the group began to receive significant attention with the release of their track "Arabesque" on SoundCloud in early 2017, which they released via Glasgow Kelvin College’s in-house label, Electric Honey. Earning comparisons to other alternative acts such as Bombay Bicycle Club and Dutch Uncles, they were also commended for their refreshingly unique take on songwriting and composition. Following a wave of positive press coverage from the likes of Jim Gelltaly's Amazing Radio show and Vic Galloway's BBC Introducing, along with further comparisons to fellow Scottish alt-rock bands the Twilight Sad, Admiral Fallow, and Frightened Rabbit, the band went to work writing and recording their first full-length effort. Around this time, the boys also made a number of live appearances at festivals in Scotland, such as Wickerman Festival, Belladrum Festival, and T in the Park. Their debut album, Any Joy (the title is derived from a common phrase in the Glaswegian dialect; the band chose it due to its dual undertones of gloom and hope), arrived in May 2017.