14 Songs, 40 Minutes


About Reindeer Section

The Reindeer Section is the super group combining some of Scotland's musically creative as well as some of indie rock's finest to emerge during the late '90s. All hailing from the city that brought Travis, Primal Scream, and Texas to the U.K. music forefront, the Reindeer Section boasted similar testimonies to their native land and swooning swan songs surrounding drink and daydreams. It's merely an experiment -- musical mayhem captured during ten days in a studio that Belle & Sebastian's Mick Cooke and Richard Colburn joined Arab Strap's Aidin Moffatt and Mogwai's John Cummings for a stunning result entitled Y'all Get Scared Now, Ya Hear! Jonny Quinn and Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol, select members of the guitar rock outfit, Astrid, as well as musicians from Hercules, Eva, Mull Historical Society, and V-Twin added to the Reindeer Section's story book swirls of something lush and dark. Y'all Get Scared Now, Ya Hear! was issued on Bright Star Recordings in the U.K. in early 2001, and on PIAS America later that fall. The next year, The Reindeer Section expanded their line-up with the addition of Idlewild's Roddy Woomble, Norman Blake of Teenage Fanclub and members from The Vaselines and Cadet. Such expansion allowed for a grand sound as well. A second album, Son of Evil Reindeer, appeared in summer 2002. ~ MacKenzie Wilson



Listeners Also Played