2 Songs, 6 Minutes


About The Penny Black Remedy

Formed in London, England, in the late 2000s by Scottish singer/songwriter/guitarist Keith M. Thomson, eclectic multinational indie rock outfit the Penny Black Remedy came together out of a shared love of all things country, punk, ska, and Balkan folk. Consisting of Edinburgh native Thomson, classically trained Croatian vocalist/percussionist Marijana Hajdarhodzic, English bassist Steve Nelson, and Dutch drummer Wilco van Eijk, the band has a penchant for bawdy humor, high-energy genre-bending musicality, and marathon drinking sessions, drawing comparisons to everyone from Gogol Bordello and Nick Cave to Johnny Cash and Hank Williams and resulting in a loyal following both at home and abroad. The group’s debut album, No One’s Fault But Your Own, was released in 2009 on the band’s own Soundinistas label.

London, England



Listeners Also Played