Screenshots

Description

*** Completely brand new and improved app - January 2019 ***
• New: Improved products, pricing and bundles
• New: Sync between all your devices and our website
• New: More data
• New: Refreshed design and layout
• New: Faster and easier navigation
• New: Compatible with all screen sizes

Never agree to buy a used car without checking its history first.
Free to download, My Car Check allows you to view the details of any UK registered car, van or motorcycle by searching using the registration number.

However, this information is not enough to make an important decision such as buying a used vehicle.

Since 2005 we’ve provided peace of mind for millions of people. From only a few pounds you can avoid buying a potentially un-safe, stolen or debt-ridden vehicle, saving yourself time, money and effort, not to mention the unthinkable consequences of buying an unsafe car.
Don’t risk it. Check it first. Be car confident.

For FREE, we can usually provide:
• Make & Model
• Colour
• Engine Size
• BHP
• Body Type
• Fuel Type
• Date of Registration
• CO2 Emissions
• Valuation
• MOT Status, History & Mileage
• Road Tax Information

For a fee, via in-app purchases or using credits from your My Car Check account you can get:
Our Basic Check for £1.99 per vehicle, reveals whether the registration is:
• Stolen
• Written-off
• Scrapped
• Exported
• Colour or plate changes
• Full vehicle specification details

Our Comprehensive Check for £9.99 per vehicle, includes all the above, plus:
• Outstanding finance details
• Covered by a £30,000 guarantee

We don’t mean to brag but:
• More than 1 million downloads
• #1 iOS utility 2010 – 2014
• App Store - 'Staff Favourites'
• Which? - '10 money-saving apps'
• Mail on Sunday Magazine - 'Cash-saving apps'
• Former #1 free app

Questions?
Information is supplied by the DVLA, Police, ABI and SMMT. Not every vehicle will have all information available, please contact us before purchasing if you require specific information.
If you have any questions we have a call centre to assist you. Call 0330 331 0031 or email customercare@mycarcheck.com (9am - 7pm Mon-Fri, 10am - 4pm Sat).

What’s New

Version 6.0.10

In this update...

We've listened, we've learnt and hopefully we've convinced you that we do care about enthusiasts, hobbyists and users who generally use our application for free.

You now get a Vehicle Snapshot - when you do a number plate search the snapshot summarises the key specification data you wanted to see at a glance, without the need to swipe and find.

You can now delete any factsheet you performed, obviously we won't be letting you delete your paid reports, the last thing we need are more bad reviews.

So we hope you like the changes we've made.

Thanks as always
My Car Check Team

Ratings and Reviews

4.6 out of 5
1.6K Ratings
1.6K Ratings
Lancesco ,

Not sure...

Thank you for retrieving my historic look up data, albeit making it very tedious to get to or move into my current list. A select all would be nice 😉
Also thank for you improving the initial results to show a snapshot of the data.

I know many of us don’t fit your use case for this app and you are keen to find new revenue from the app, but please look at your existing customer base and what their needs are. You must see how the app is being used in your analytics and there are so many things you can add that your existing customer base would ‘want’ and pay for. Instead of charging for data that’s easy to obtain for little to no cost else where and that your existing base is likely not that interested in.

Developer Response ,

Hi, many thanks for your feedback. The extensive UI/UX research we conducted when we were designing the new app suggested a tabbed design was most useful, however we will take your feedback and discuss. Unfortunately we are not permitted to show some data whereby we are giving it away for free. This is because of the legally-binding contracts we have with suppliers. When we set about re-building our new website and app, saving, converting and presenting old data was a big challenge. So we carried out research to understand the need for it. This research suggested that there was little value in a customer accessing old checks, particularly free look-ups, therefore we did not build it in to the new website and app. We hope that you check back with us in the future and are able to utilise some of the useful and interesting features we'll be releasing over the coming months. Many thanks.

dr-pop ,

Developers attitude stinks

Wow. The passive aggressive release notes seem to be written by the most arrogant and ungrateful people. First they delete your data - both free and paid searches, then they launch a new app that is missing some essential features, then they begrudgingly bring back the old data in a way that isn't very useful because it cannot be searched, and finally they expect us "mere users" (paraphrasing) to be grateful. What a fluck up.

Wake up and smell the coffee! You made some mistakes - your research and ideas of user experience best practices are simply wrong. If you want to do it properly read Apple's Human Interface Guidelines. Don't double down on this ill-conceived new app - fix it! If only the developer spent as much time fixing the app as they do replying to complaints on here.

Developer Response ,

UPDATE: Thanks dr-pop for sharing your feelings and the passion you have for our app. Sorry you thought we were being aggressive in our release notes, that was certainly not our intention, we were trying to poke fun at ourselves for misjudging the impact the initial version of our new app had on our loyal users. Apologies My Car Check Team.

PREVIOUS: Hi thanks for your feedback. When we set about re-building our new website and app, saving, converting and presenting old data was a big challenge. So we carried out research to understand the need for it. This research suggested that there was little value in a customer accessing old checks, particularly free look-ups, therefore we did not build it in to the new website and app. We hope that you check back with us in the future and are able to utilise some of the useful and interesting features we'll be releasing over the coming months. Many thanks.

Ste576533333 ,

Update has truly ruined this.

I used this for years as a log for all the cars I’ve seen that are very rare or caught my eye. I also purchased paid reports for cars I have bought. The whole log in addition you’ve added is quite frankly a ball ache. I’ll be using another provider from now on as they don’t need an account. Ease of access was key for apps like these. You’ve taken that away. And taking very basic information off free reports such as BHP, engine size, mileage & MOT. What your left with is literally nothing.

A restore purchases option was suffice if you ever changed to a new phone or lost an old one.
The account thing is just stupid.

Developer Response ,

Hi, many thanks for your feedback. When we set about re-building our new website and app, saving, converting and presenting old data was a big challenge. So we carried out research to understand the need for it. This research suggested that there was little value in a customer accessing old checks, particularly free look-ups, therefore we did not build it in to the new website and app. The extensive UI/UX research we conducted when we were designing the new app suggested a tabbed design was most useful, however we will take your feedback and discuss. BHP, engine size, mileage & MOT are available for free. Unfortunately we are not permitted to show some data whereby we are giving it away for free though. This is because of the legally-binding contracts we have with suppliers. We hope that you check back with us in the future and are able to utilise some of the useful and interesting features we'll be releasing over the coming months. Many thanks.

Information

Seller
CDL Vehicle Information Services Limited
Size
45.7 MB
Category
Lifestyle
Compatibility

Requires iOS 9.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad and iPod touch.

Languages

English

Age Rating
Rated 4+
Copyright
© 2009 - 2019 CDL VIS Ltd.
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. History Check (Legacy App) £2.99
  2. Valuation Check (Legacy App) £0.99
  3. Gold History Check(Legacy App) £9.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members will be able to use this app with Family Sharing enabled.

You May Also Like