iPad Screenshots


A new way to experience classical music. Esa-Pekka Salonen conducts the world-renowned Philharmonia Orchestra, performing extracts from eight works representing three centuries of symphonic music.


• An orchestra at your command: Experience classical music like never before with fascinating features, including video, synchronized score, simplified score and commentary by Esa-Pekka Salonen.

• Expert explanations: World-class musicians explain their role in the orchestra and demonstrate how their instruments work. Use a keyboard to play samples of the instruments, and view each one in glorious detail with 360° rotations.

• Discover the BeatMap: This groundbreaking visualization of the performances shows different sections of the orchestra pulse in time with the music, helping you understand the complexity of each piece. Hold down your finger to hear different sections of the orchestra in isolation.

• Unparalleled access: Watch beautiful multi-camera video of the acclaimed Philharmonia Orchestra, and switch effortlessly between different angles and sections of the orchestra.

• Discover the story: Read insightful text on the pieces, composers and instruments specially written by Mark Swed, music critic of the LA Times.

The Music:

• Haydn: Symphony No 6
• Beethoven: Symphony No 5
• Berlioz: Symphony Fantastique
• Debussy: Prélude à l’après midi d’un faune
• Mahler: Symphony No 6
• Stravinsky: The Firebird
• Lutosławski: Concerto for Orchestra
• Salonen: Violin Concerto

Learn more about the app and its creators: theorchestraapp.com


If you enjoy The Orchestra, don’t forget to rate it and leave a review – it really helps!

What's New

Version 1.4.5

Thanks for updating! In this update, we've fixed a crash which a small number of users were experiencing on restoring their previous purchases. We appreciate your feedback which enabled us to fix this quickly

Ratings and Reviews

fantastic intro to orchestral music


I was hesitant about buying this due to the price but saw their Beethoven 9 app and thought it looked very promising. Glad I did as this is a wonderful achievement and exactly how an ipad app should be designed. There are several pieces of music played and analysed (be aware that most are excerpts of longer works) and you can move seemlessly between detailed videos of the orchestra playing and being able to follow a score. One of the best features is having a full score or the option to follow only the main instruments- the score is superbly 'curated' for this. There are also commentaries in real time if you wish, spoken or just subtitles. In addition there is an excellent section which explains all the instruments through video, text and image. Altogether it's amazing. As a musician myself I hope they expand this project and as a teacher I am looking forward to using this in school. The works range from Haydn, Beethoven, Berlioz symponies to Debussy prelude, Stravinsky Firebird, Lutoslawski concerto for orchestra and Salonen violin concerto. Any negatives? Only that I'm not sure I need to see the conductor all the time and it would have been good to have at least a complete movement of Beethoven 5. Well done to the developers and of course the Philharmonia Orchestra.

Almost perfect

Franz Sonik

A great idea, beautifully put together. Instructive, pleasurable and to me, also inspirational. Would have loved to have been able to access such an app when I was studying orchestration at Music College ten years ago! Why not 5 stars then? Firstly, it needs to be made clearer that only excerpts are available here, the way it's presented is misleading. Secondly, for the price, I would have preferred to be able to choose one complete piece by a composer rather than a selection of short excerpts (no matter how good the selection is - and it is brilliant btw). Finally, having to pay another £0.79 to be hear solo sections seems mean considering it is already an expensive app to start with. Anyway, these are minor gripes really, as I thoroughly enjoy using the app now and then. Now, if I may put forward a request, I would love to see/hear work by Gorecki, Messiaen, Ligeti or Britten given the same treatment...

A must for classical music lovers

39 steps too many

For a deep insight into the orchestra this must surely top the list. Every aspect is explored in depth, with every effort to avoid over-technical terms. A nice touch is the explanation of each instrument by the people that actually play them, and especially endearing are their verbal comments on the pieces played, as the score unfolds before your eyes. The conductor's problems and secrets are unveiled too.
I speak as a retired orchestral player and conductor who thought he knew it all, but I still got some new insights.
A slight drawback is the ease with which one can miss all the options: a full menu does not seem to appear anywhere, but this can be put right in future editions.
An overwhelming success, and well worth the purchase fee.

In-App Purchases

Solo Audio

Hear sections of the orchestra in isolation



Amphio Limited
2 GB
Requires iOS 9.0 or later. Compatible with iPad.
English, French, German, Japanese, Simplified Chinese
Age Rating
Rated 4+
© Amphio Limited
In-App Purchases
  1. Solo Audio £0.99


  • Family Sharing

    Up to six family members will be able to use this app with Family Sharing enabled.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like