Top Songs


Singles & EPs

About Black Submarine

Comprising Nick McCabe and Simon Jones, former members of '90s alt-rockers the Verve, and rounded out by multi-instrumentalist Davide Rossi, former Portishead drummer Michele Schillace, and vocalist Amelia Tucker, England's Black Submarine originally formed under the moniker Black Ships, which is the name they used to issue their 2011 debut EP, Kurofune -- a dispute with a U.S.-based electronic duo led to the name change. Employing a self-described mix of "spaced-out vocals, deep beats, rolling basslines, molten soundscapes, meditative chord sequences, and explosive string arrangements," the newly minted Black Submarine contributed material to a 2013 Indonesian action film starring Mickey Rourke before announcing the release date for their debut long-player, 2014's self-released New Shores. ~ James Christopher Monger