About Divided Multitude

A Norwegian heavy metal group, Divided Multitude emerged in the late 1990s with a versatile and melody-driven sound that draws from both progressive and power metal. Debuting in 1999 with Inner Self, the band has continued to innovate in the vein of sonic contemporaries like Symphony X, Vanden Plas, and Pyramaze, issuing a string of acclaimed prog-metal efforts like Guardian Angel (2010) and Faceless Aggressor (2019).
Formed in 1995 in the city of Brekstad and comprised of guitarist/vocalist Sindre Antonsen, guitarist Christer Haroy, bassist Rayner Haroy, keyboardist Eskild Kløften, and drummer Anders Vinje, Divided Multitude issued a pair of demos, Stranded (1996) and Tale of Tomorrow (1997) ahead of their official full-length debut, 1999's Sensory Records-issued Inner Self. By the time of the release of 2002's Falling to Pieces, the band had become a formidable live act, appearing at numerous festivals including ProgPower Europe. The bandmembers spent the next few years attending to various other projects, but re-focused their energies on Divided Multitude in 2007 and began work on a new album. The resulting Guardian Angel was released via Silverwolf Records in 2010. Feed on Your Misery, the band's fourth long-player, arrived in 2013 by way of Fireball Records, and 2015's eponymous, crowd-funded Divided Multitude saw the group go the independent route. 2019's melodic and riff-heavy Faceless Aggressor marked the debut of new vocalist Jan Thore Grefstad of Highland Glory and Saint Daemon fame. ~ James Christopher Monger

Similar Artists