Fighting With Wire

Top Songs


About Fighting With Wire

Fighting with Wire are a three-piece, melodic, post-hardcore act hailing from County Derry, Northern Ireland. The group's diverse style is strongly influenced by the advent of the '90s grunge scene, with Jimmy Eat World and Weezer particularly notable influences, as well as more dissonant emo and hardcore punk acts such as Fugazi and At the Drive-In. Their technical yet accessible sound has invited comparison with contemporaries such as Funeral for a Friend, Lostprophets, and Hundred Reasons. Fighting with Wire formed in 2003 as a side project for guitarist and vocalist Cahir O'Doherty of London bands Jetplane Landing and Clearshot, and drummer Craig McKean (also of Clearshot). The lineup would remain fluid for some time before bassist Jamie King became the third permanent member. Signing to Smalltown America, a D.I.Y. independent label formed by Jetplane Landing's Andrew Ferris, the group released a series of limited-run singles and contributed to compilations released by the label. Tours of the U.K. and Ireland supporting the likes of Biffy Clyro, Against Me!, and You Me at Six would follow .

Fighting with Wire recorded their debut album in Northern Ireland during 2007 and Man vs. Monster was released in the U.K. and Ireland on the Smalltown America label in March of 2008. Lead single "Everyone Needs a Nemesis" was released in June of 2008, followed by "All for Nothing" in October and "Sugar" in March of the following year. In 2009, Fighting with Wire were picked up by major label Atlantic Records with a view to distributing Man vs. Monster worldwide. ~ Dave Donnelly

Similar Artists