Top Songs


Singles & EPs

Live Albums

About The Room

The Liverpool, England, new wave band the Room were greeted with critical rhapsodies when they first appeared in the early '80s. Featuring Dave Jackson (vocals), Paul Cavanagh (guitar), Becky Stringer (bass), and Alan Wills (drums), the Room formed in 1983, releasing several singles on Box Records. None of the singles penetrated the pop charts, but music writers showered them with praise. In 1984, the Room opened for former Television leader Tom Verlaine; Verlaine was so impressed with the group that he produced several tracks on the Room's 1984 LP In Evil Hour. The Room also hired veteran Smiths producer John Porter for In Evil Hour. However, such renowned assistance couldn't elevate the Room from its cult status; the critics still loved them, but nobody else seemed interested in listening. To expand its sound, the band added Pete Baker (organ, synthesizer) and Phil Lucking (trombone, trumpet) to its lineup. The Room released one more album, 1986's Nemesis, before disintegrating. Jackson created Benny Profane in the late '80s with Stringer and Baker. The Room are perhaps best known for the song "New Dreams for Old"; highlighted by Jackson's dynamic vocals and Baker's jazzy trumpet, the track became an underground radio hit in the Philippines in 1988, four years after its U.K. release. ~ Michael Sutton

Similar Artists