10 Songs, 32 Minutes


About Every Move a Picture

The dance post-punk stylings of San Francisco's Every Move a Picture initially materialized around vocalist/guitarist Brent Messenger, bassist Joey Fredrick, and drummer Dan Aquino. Childhood friends Messenger and Fredrick had been playing in various bands throughout the early 2000s (at times with Aquino), but Every Move a Picture wasn't officially born until early 2004. The quartet was ultimately completed after Portland transplant Allen Davis answered a Craigslist posting and joined up on guitar and keyboards. Soon after, the band recorded three songs at a friend's rehearsal space; the energetic tracks found early airplay on local radio and by KROQ's Rodney Bingenheimer in L.A. As their music further filtered across to the U.K. and Radio One, Every Move a Picture could be found opening hometown shows for the likes of the Kaiser Chiefs and Louis XIV. Also generating notable buzz at 2005's SXSW -- all from those first three songs -- the band next released the five-song EP Blink and You'll Miss It. This led to their first live radio session at L.A.'s hip KCRW, and the licensing of various tracks to computer games and television shows like One Tree Hill. Before any official release appeared overseas, Every Move a Picture played their first U.K. gigs to overwhelming response. The London-based label Something in Construction then issued a 7" containing the songs "Signs of Life" and "Chemical Burns," which promptly sold out the week of release. Touring continued, including a spot at the 2005 Reading and Leeds festivals, and serving as support for June dates with the Futureheads in the U.S. The band also issued a four-song EP Opposition Party with all proceeds going to the Rainforest Action Network. Every Move a Picture finally released their anticipated full-length debut Heart=Weapon on V2 in July 2006, and supported it that fall on the road with Electric Six. ~ Corey Apar

Top Songs by Every Move a Picture

Listeners Also Played