The Telepathic Butterflies on Apple Music

The Telepathic Butterflies

The Telepathic Butterflies were formed in Winnipeg by guitarist and songwriter Réjean (Rej) Ricard and drummer Jacques (Jake) Dubois. The duo performed as Mayonnaise and Groove before settling on its current name (taken from a passage in Kurt Vonnegut's novel Breakfast of Champions), all the while developing and refining a tight, smart power pop style. Their first album, Nine Songs (although it actually had 12 songs), was recorded D.I.Y. and self-released in 2000, after which a bass player, Eric Van Buren, was added to the lineup. Nine Songs was remastered and four additional songs were added for a second release under the title Introducing the Telepathic Butterflies in 2003 by New York label Rainbow Quartz. A second album, Songs from a Second Wave, came out on Rainbow Quartz in 2004, followed four years later in 2008 by Breakfast in Suburbia. ~ Steve Leggett

Top Songs

Latest Release


Similar Artists