Latest Release

Top Songs


Music Videos

Singles & EPs

About División Minúscula

Mexican punk-pop band División Minúscula debuted in 2001, but it took another five years for them to attain commercial success, with their second album, Defecto Perfecto (2006). Formed in 1996 in the northeast Mexican town of Matamoros, Tamaulipas, the band is comprised of Javier Blake (singer/guitarist), Ricci Perez (guitarist), Kiko Blake (drummer), and Alex Luque (bassist). The band relocated to Monterrey, Nuevo León, where the bandmembers attended college; they were discovered there by Toy Hernández of the rap group Control Machete, who signed the band to his boutique label, Sones del Mexside. División Minúscula's debut album, Extrañando Casa (2001), followed and was quite novel in Mexico, where American-style punk-pop was rarely performed in Spanish by domestic artists. Two hit singles resulted: "Televidente" and "Cursi." Five years passed before the band's second album, Defecto Perfecto (2006), as the bandmembers went back to school to finish their education. Defecto Perfecto proved even more popular than its predecessor, spawning three hits -- "Sismo," "Veneno es Antídoto (S.O.S.)," and "Sognare" -- and earning División Minúscula a pair of MTV Video Music Award nominations, for Promising Artist (Artista Promesa) and Best Alternative Act (Mejor Artista Alternativo). ~ Jason Birchmeier

Similar Artists