The Lawrence, KS, rock & roll band Conner were formed by singer/guitarist James Duft and bass player Phil Bonahoom with a drummer who soon dropped out to go to the Boston Conservatory of Music. Undaunted, the remaining duo tried out various other musicians before settling on drummer Bryce Boley. The final member of the quartet, guitarist Tom Wagner, ran Underground Sounds Studio, where Conner made their first demo. The group recorded its first album, The White Cube, for release on Underground on August 11, 2003, and spent the next several years playing around the country and building a following. They were signed to Seattle-based independent label Sonic Boom Recordings for Hello Graphic Missile, released June 20, 2006. ~ William Ruhlmann

Top Songs