Top Songs


Artist Playlists

Singles & EPs


Appears On

About Postgirobygget

Postgirobygget are a chart-topping Norwegian pop/rock band whose debut album, Melis (1996), was a remarkable success, charting for nearly a year and a half. Founded in the mid-'90s in Trondheim, Norway, the band is comprised of Arne Hurlén (vocals, guitar), Nils Petter Time (guitar), Øyvind Kolset (keyboards), Nicolai Hauan (bass), and Per Sarin Madsen (drums); co-founder Gunnar Westgaard (bass) was a member of the band until 2008. Postgirobygget made their recording debut in 1995 with a couple demos (Vennligst Lukk Døren and Rivd) prior to making their commercial debut in 1996 with the full-length album Melis on EMI. A remarkable success, Melis spent a whopping 70 weeks on the Norwegian albums chart, peaking at number two over a year after its initial release, and spawned the Top 20 hit single "Idyll." The follow-up album, Essensuell (1997), went all the way to number one. While the subsequent albums Supertanker (1999) and 4-4-2 (2001) were less successful -- the former reaching the Top Ten, the latter the Top 20 -- Postgirobygget returned to the top of the Norwegian albums chart with their next two album releases: Best Av Alt (2003), a double-disc compilation of career highlights, demo recordings, and live material; and Tidløs (2007), whose title track was the band's biggest hit to date, peaking at number three on the singles chart. Sixth album Øyeblikk (2009) was a Top Ten hit and includes the single "Luftmadrass." ~ Jason Birchmeier

Similar Artists