Sexteto Mayor on Apple Music

Sexteto Mayor

The sextet format that Julio De Caro established for Argentinean tango orchestration in 1924 has been reclaimed by Sexteto Mayor. Formed in 1973, in the home of Carlo Gardel, the group continues to be directed by bandoneon players and arrangers Jose Libertella and Luiz Stazo. While the basis lineup of bandoneon, twin fiddle, bass, and piano has remained consistent, a number of musicians have added their unique musical approaches to Sexteto Mayor's sound. Founding pianist Juan Mazzadi was replaced by Armando Cupo, who in turn was replaced by Oscar Palermo, while original bassist Omar Murtagh handed his position to Kicho Diaz and then Eduardo Aulicano. Violinists Mario Abromovich and Eduardo Walczak were preceded by Mauricio Mise, Fernando Suarez Paz, Reynaldo Nichele, and Hugo Baralis. Although modern influences are reflected in their arrangements, Sexteto Mayor remain rooted in the traditional sounds of Argentinean music. While they primarily play in the tango tradition, the band includes a number of waltzes and milongas in their repertoire. ~ Craig Harris

Top Songs

Latest Release


Similar Artists