Single Bullet Theory on Apple Music

Single Bullet Theory

Drawing inspiration from the aggressive, vehement sounds of black metal and the classic melodies of power metal, the Philly-based quartet Single Bullet Theory formed in 2000 from the ashes of Pissing Razors, Seven Witches, and Shadowdance. Matt Difabio (vocals, guitar), Billy Mez (bass), Carlos Alvarez (guitar), and Jay Horvath (drums) displayed a strong D.I.Y. ethic from the start, issuing a self-released EP in 2000 and financing the resulting tour themselves. After signing with the Phoenix-based Crash Music in January 2003, Single Bullet Theory entered the studio to record their debut CD, Route 66. The album was released in April and received warm reviews from the metal community, with the music video for "Murder Machines" enjoying airtime on Headbanger's Ball and Fuse's Uranium. Behind Eyes of Hatred followed in early 2004; recorded by James Murphy (Testament, Death, Obituary) on a mobile computer, the album was created without the traditional time constraints of a studio. Single Bullet Theory toured alongside Amorphis in 2005 before splitting from Crash Music and taking a year-long hiatus, but 2007 saw them rejoining the Crash roster and issuing a new album, On Broken Wings. ~ Andrew Leahey

    Philadelphia, PA

Top Songs

Latest Release


Similar Artists