Sweden's Witchery was born in 1997 after Satanic Slaughter founder Ztephan Dark decided to fire his band, which then consisted of guitarists Patrik Jensen (of Seance and the Haunted) and Richard Corpse, vocalist Toxine, and drummer Mique. The four of them recruited bassist Sharlee D' Angelo of Mercyful Fate and immediately released Witchery's first album, Restless and Dead. Witchery's riff-heavy style, hailing back to the melodic metal of the '80s, was well-received by both critics and fans. The combination of Patrik Jensen, known mainly for his work with the Haunted, and Mercyful Fate bassist Sharlee D' Angelo established Witchery as a black/death metal supergroup. Their second release was the 1999 EP Witchburner, made up of four covers and three originals. Covering songs by W.A.S.P., Judas Priest, Accept, and Black Sabbath, Witchery paid tribute to the groups that have influenced their sound. Dead, Hot, and Ready followed shortly thereafter, becoming their third release in less than a year's time. 2006's Don't Fear the Reaper marked the band's debut for Century Media Records, and featured a cover of Satanic Slaughter's "Immortal Death." Witchkrieg dropped in 2010, with In His Infernal Majesty's Service, the band's sixth studio long-player, arriving in 2016. ~ Kevin Odle

Top Songs

Latest Release