2 Songs, 8 Minutes


About Penniless

Originally formed under the moniker "The Penniless People of Bulgaria," these guys actually emerged out of a small town in Finland called Nakkila in 1991. Consisting of Pekka Alisaari (vocals/guitar), Kimmo Kurittu (bass), Lasse Alisaari (drums), and Mikko Pere (guitar), Penniless debuted their first album, Mould, on their own Penni Records not too long after getting together. With a strong Pixies influence on top of their own unique sense of melodic noise pop, their second album Velocity was released in 1993 followed by the recruitment of Pekka's brother Ossi Alisaari as a third guitarist. Their third album Joe was released by A West Side Fabrication in 1998 along with the single Avalanche, and a European tour with labelmates Tommy 16. ~ Mike DaRonco

Top Songs