Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn’t open, click the iTunes icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music from Slow Light by Airport Girl, download iTunes now.

Do you already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Slow Light

Open iTunes to preview, buy and download music.

Album Review

Airport Girl have eased up on the eclectic style-shifting that marked Honey, I'm an Artist and Do You Dream in Color for their second full-length album, Slow Light, though at the same time the British sextet is clearly mastering their chosen style of lovely but downbeat mid-tempo indie pop. Which isn't to say that Slow Light sounds monochromatic; the old-school synthesizer effects on "Ode to the City" and the lonely trumpet and steel guitar of "I've Seen Mexico" demonstrate how these musicians have learned to put fresh textures into their arrangements, and the simple but straightforward pop of "Don't Let Me Down Again" wouldn't feel out of place on Lloyd Cole's first album. Slow Light's dour mood never really lifts over the course of its 11 tracks (despite the increased volume and fuzzy guitars of the finale "Bullfighting"), but the cumulative effect is thoughtfully contemplative rather than just bummed out, and the spare but eloquent music generates an ascetic beauty that's truly effecting. The musicians bring off these songs with understated brilliance (especially vocalist and guitarist Robert Price and keyboard man David Hill) and what could have been mere navel-gazing from other musicians is transformed into something eloquent and quietly remarkable; this is music for the middle of the night at its best.


Genre: Alternative

Years Active: '90s, '00s

Merging the inward gaze of lo-fi with the more gregarious pleasures of indie pop, Airport Girl are a six-piece (sometimes eight-piece) ensemble from England who has quietly amassed an impressive résumé, recording for some of the nation's most well-respected independent labels. Airport Girl's core lineup includes Rob Price on guitar, banjo, harmonica, and vocals, Robert Perris on lead guitar, Sean Price on bass, David Hill on keyboards, Richard Blackburn on electric piano, and Jon Troy on drums; auxiliary...
Full bio
Slow Light, Airport Girl
View in iTunes

Customer Ratings

We have not received enough ratings to display an average for this album.