12 Songs, 41 Minutes


About La Mafia

La Mafia is among the most versatile Latino bands. Hailing from Houston, they are largely responsible for the resurgence of the "norteño sound," which has some basis in country and western music. The group was founded by Oscar and Leonard Gonzalez, both of whom were raised in the north end of Houston. The other group members are drummer Michael Aguilar, bass player Rudy Martinez, and keyboard players Armando Lichtenberger, Jr. (he also plays accordion) and David de la Garza. La Mafia released their eponymous debut album in 1986 for Sony. Extensive touring of the U.S. and Mexico brought them renown. Their second album, Estas Tocando Fuego, came out in 1991 and sold nearly 1 million copies. Their 1993 album Ahora y Siempre went triple platinum. La Mafia has also won numerous awards including an award for Top Regional Mexican Album and Song of 1992; other releases included 1993's International, 1995's Exitos en Vivo and 1996's Un Millon de Rosas. ~ Sandra Brennan

Houston, TX




Listeners Also Played