12 Songs, 42 Minutes


Mastered for iTunes


Mastered for iTunes

Ratings and Reviews

5.0 out of 5
7 Ratings
7 Ratings
Zachy poop

Solid Gold!!!

I own and love all of Zoot Woman's albums and this album is SOLID GOLD! I think their last album lagged a bit, but they are dialed in tight with Absence. A must own and must listen work!



It's truly rare to find a LP that is great first to last song. Been listening to these guys for a long time and I can say that after a bit of a lull in the quality of their music, I can say that they are back to their best material.



This is their best work since the 2003 self-titled album. Really good stuff.

About Zoot Woman

Owing as much to Hall & Oates and Roxy Music as the Pet Shop Boys, the stylish electro-pop trio Zoot Woman features producer Stuart Price (who also works as Les Rhythmes Digitales and Jacques Lu Cont) and brothers Johnny and Adam Blake (aka the remix duo Paper Faces). Fusing traditional instrumentation and techniques with retro electronics, the trio began working together in the mid-'90s, issuing a couple of singles for Wall of Sound before Price switched his focus to Les Rhythmes Digitales. Price and the Blakes reunited to release the It's Automatic single in 2000 and the full-length Living in a Magazine -- a concept album about the 21st century's media-saturated culture -- the following year. Zoot Woman delivered their darker, more organic-sounding self-titled second album, which spawned the singles "Grey Day" and "Taken It All," in 2003. In 2008, the group formed the label ZWR to release 2009's Things Are What They Used to Be, which drew from the trio's deep love of '80s synth-pop as well as harder-edged, electroclash-inspired sounds. For 2014's Star Climbing, the trio returned to a lighter, more atmospheric pop sound exemplified by the lead track "Don't Tear Yourself Apart." ~ Heather Phares