Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music from Bartók: The Wooden Prince - Cantata Profana by Chicago Symphony Orchestra & Pierre Boulez, download iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Bartók: The Wooden Prince - Cantata Profana

Open iTunes to preview, buy, and download music.

Customer Reviews


If you are looking for creativity and imagination ... look no further than Bela Bartok. This will shake up your student who is used to (and likely slightly bored with) a steady listening diet of Bach, Mozart and Beethoven.


Of course it's weird. It's Bartok.


This is Bela Bartok's early masterpiece, written when he was barely 20 year's old. It is a tone poem like none ever heard before. A transition period between the less structured romanticism of Ravel and Scriabin it foreshadows Schoenberg's and Prokofiev's experimentation with discordant tensions. The storyline is of existential awakening, beginning with immature narcissistic desire leading to raw angst and finally transitioning into a mature love and commitment. Bartok puts into music a universal experience that reminds us all of our own potential.


Formed: 1891 in Chicago, IL

Genre: Classical

Years Active:

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra is one of the three most acclaimed orchestras in America at the end of the century (the others being the New York Philharmonic and the Boston Symphony Orchestra), and one of the few serious rivals that the New York Philharmonic has had in its long history. Curiously, the histories of the two orchestras are somewhat intermingled. Theodore Thomas had organized and led orchestras in New York during the 1870s and 1880s, competing with the Philharmonic Society of New York...
Full Bio
Bartók: The Wooden Prince - Cantata Profana, Chicago Symphony Orchestra
View in iTunes
  • $9.99
  • Genres: Classical, Music
  • Released: Nov 10, 1992

Customer Ratings