22 Songs, 56 Minutes


About The Motor City Brass Quintet

Featuring some of Detroit's most admired and creative brass musicians, including members of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra and the Michigan Opera Theatre Orchestra, the Motor City Brass Quintet are a versatile horn band with a repertoire that ranges from classical to ragtime to modern pop and jazz. Principle members of the band include Scott Thornburg and Derek Lockhart on trumpet, Eric Reed on French horn, John Rutherford on trombone, and Jacob Cameron on tuba, although many other Detroit-area brass players have sat in with the group from time to time. A debut album, Christmas Vespers, anchored by the premiere recording of John Harbison’s “Christmas Vespers,” was released by Brassjar Music in 2009. ~ Steve Leggett