5 Songs, 19 Minutes


About Justice

Gaspard Augé and Xavier de Rosnay are Justice, a Parisian dance duo that gives French touch a twist by adding rock and indie elements. The pair began making music in the early 2000s, and first appeared on Musclorvision's Hits Up to You!, a 2003 compilation of songs intended to sound like Eurovision song contest entries. That year, Justice also remixed Simian's "Never Be Alone" for a college radio song contest; Ed Banger signed the duo and released the single, which eventually became popular in England and Germany as well as France. In 2005, Augé and de Rosnay released Justice's debut single "Waters of Nazareth." During this time, they also established themselves as prolific remixers, reworking songs for artists including N.E.R.D., Britney Spears, Death from Above 1979, Fatboy Slim, Daft Punk, Franz Ferdinand, and Mr. Oizo.

Justice's breakthrough arrived in 2007 with the release of "D.A.N.C.E.," a catchy single with an attention-getting video that featured animated T-shirts, and the duo's debut full-length, † (aka Cross), which was released that June. The duo's accolades included nominations for Best Dance Recording for "D.A.N.C.E." and Best Electronic/Dance Album for † at the 50th Grammy Awards. The live album and concert film A Cross the Universe appeared in 2008. The following year, Justice's remix of MGMT's "Electric Feel" won a Grammy for Best Remixed Recording, Non Classical, and remixes of songs by U2 and Lenny Kravitz, as well as production work on the Birdy Nam Nam song "The Parachute Ending," kept them busy in 2009.

Augé and de Rosnay returned in 2011 with their second album Audio, Video, Disco, which was filled with prog rock sounds, guitars, and plenty of new wave-era influences. They toured extensively, with their second live album, Access All Arenas, released in 2013. Three years later, Justice returned with a pair of singles (July's "Safe and Sound" and September's "Randy") that arrived ahead of the full-length Woman that November. Described by Justice as their most joyful music yet, the album featured the London Contemporary Orchestra, as well as vocalists including Morgan Phalen, Romuald, and Zoot Woman's Johnny Blake. ~ Jason Birchmeier & Heather Phares

Paris, France




Listeners Also Played