12 Songs, 31 Minutes


About Acoustix

Acoustix is a Dallas-based a cappella group that formed in January 1990, consisting of Jason January, Rick Middaugh, Todd Wilson, and Joel T. Rutherford. They quickly became renowned for their barbershop quartet harmonies, winning numerous competitions. They soon were incorporating various musical styles into their performances, drawing on vocal jazz, doo wop, adult contemporary, and patriotic material to attract a wider audience. Their first two releases, 1991's Science of Sound and 1993's Stars & Stripes, received the added boost of the inclusion of tracks on airline in-flight programs. In 1998, they teamed with the Dallas Jazz Orchestra for a self-titled release that earned them more awards within the a cappella genre. A year later, Acoustix was joined by Mervyn Warren, a founding member of Take 6, for the seasonal Cool Yule. A heavy performing schedule has included appearances with artists such as Mitch Miller, LeAnn Rimes, and the Dixie Chicks, as well as performances at major athletic events. O Worship the King was issued in the summer of 2002. ~ Tom Demalon




Listeners Also Played