Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music from DG Concerts - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 7 & 8 - Hillborg: Eleven Gates by Esa-Pekka Salonen & Los Angeles Philharmonic, download iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

DG Concerts - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 7 & 8 - Hillborg: Eleven Gates

Open iTunes to preview, buy, and download music.

Customer Reviews

Los Angeles Philharmonic Esa-Pekka Salonen Live Beethoven Concert

Esa-Pekka Salonen gives us another in the series of superb live performances being memorialized in the DG Concerts series, as usual with complete program notes. This series continues on a very high plain! The Beethoven 8th and 7th Syphonies bracket a new work by Anders Hilborg, Eleven Gates. This is a typical Salonen program, combining the modern and demanding with the essential works of the central musical heritage. The Hilborg is 20 minutes of surprisingly tight music. Tonality shifts as the 11 "Gates" open, but there is nothing hideous here, nothing to really scare the wary listener. At one point the work even quotes (appropriately in Disney Hall) from music composed for a Donald Duck cartoon that is apparently much-loved in Sweden at Christmas! The piece is a sequence of 11 episodes which makes an interesting accumulation of details, sounds and feelings, with an overall cast of gentle dissonance. I'm not sure I "like" it, but I certainly do not regret giving it 20 minutes and perhaps more importantly would listen again. Both Beethoven Symphonies receive characteristically pointed, taut, yet propulsive readings, marked by perfect ensemble and the burnished-gold sound of the LA Philharmonic. Salonen continues to be one of the most interesting of contemporary conductors and this is another outstanding program!


Born: June 30, 1958 in Helsinki, Finland

Genre: Classical

Years Active: '70s, '80s, '90s, '00s, '10s

Esa-Pekka Salonen emerged as one of the most exciting and fast-rising major conductors of the last two decades of the 20th century. He entered the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki 1973, studying horn with Holgar Fransman. Having graduated in 1977, Salonen remained to take composition with Einojuhani Rautavaara and conducting with Jorma Panula. Although he is primarily known as a conductor, Salonen views composition as his main career. His first large-scale orchestral work was the Concerto for saxophone...
Full Bio
DG Concerts - Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 7 & 8 - Hillborg: Eleven Gates, Esa-Pekka Salonen
View In iTunes
  • $9.99
  • Genres: Classical, Music
  • Released: Jun 13, 2006

Customer Ratings