Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music from Hope by Swallow the Sun, download iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Open iTunes to preview, buy, and download music.

Customer Reviews

Brooding, Morose, Vulnerable Doom.

I consider Hope the most definitive Doom Metal album I own. It often has an understated beauty to its melodies, buried beneath the truly monstrous roar of Mikko and trudging drums. However, some of the songs are a bit too trudging for people who may not be true fans of the genre. For those people, I suggest downloading the following tracks: Hope, These Hours of Despair, Empty Skies and No Light, No Hope. Now if only iTunes would get Ghosts of Loss. That one's been impossible to find.

Great album!

Found this album to have such a different sound than their previous albums. They changed their sound just enough to make it their own. (First!)

Great stuff by a great band

All 3 of Swallow the Sun's releases are great - each sound different in their own way. The new album "Plague of Butterflies" is due out next month. All of the songs on this one are great but if you want highlights they are "Hope", "These Hours of Despair", "The Justice of Suffering," and "The Empty Skies." I agree with the other reviewer that it would be better if Ghosts of Loss were on iTunes, but it's not that hard to find regardless.


Genre: Rock

Years Active: '00s, '10s

Swallow the Sun are a Finnish death and doom metal band. They were formed in early 2000 with vocalist Mikko Kotamäki, guitarists Juha Raivio and Markus Jämsen, keyboardist Aleksi Munter, bassist Matti Honkonen, and drummer Pasi Pasanen. Their debut album, The Morning Never Came, was issued on Firebox in 2003. It was followed two years later by Ghosts of Loss, featuring the single "Forgive Her...," which landed in the Finnish Top Ten. In 2006 they signed to Spinefarm Records and released their third...
Full Bio