7 Songs


About Rumble Fish

A minor but worthwhile presence on the post-C-86 British indie pop scene, Rumblefish only managed one full-length album in their six-year career, but their slightly glammy version of indie guitar strum earns favorable comparison to more prolific bands like the Dentists and Talulah Gosh.

Rumblefish (named of course after the cult teen novel by Oklahoma author S.E. Hinton) formed in Birmingham in 1986 and consisted of Jeremy Paige (lead vocals and guitar), Dominic Crane (guitars and keyboards), Phil Edwards (bass), and Rupert Knowlden (drums). After placing a song, "Theatre King," on the 1987 compilation Beauty on the Liverpool indie The Pink Label, Rumblefish released their first single, "Tug Boat Line," in 1987. Two more singles followed in 1988, "Medicine" and "Don't Leave Me."

Although the group never officially split up, Rumblefish remained inactive from 1989 until 1992, when the single "Everything Electrical" appeared unexpectedly on the U.S. label EastWest Records. The group's self-titled album was released later that year, containing new recordings of "Tug Boat Line" and "Don't Leave Me." When a second single from the album, "Mexico," disappeared, EastWest dropped the group and they quietly disbanded. ~ Stewart Mason

Top Songs by Rumble Fish

Top Albums by Rumble Fish