10 Songs, 36 Minutes


Ratings and Reviews

4.6 out of 5
165 Ratings
165 Ratings
Scene Boi

Hapiness will not disappoint you!

I'm not sure why they re-released this album. Anyway, I've loved Dance Gavin Dance for a long time and I feel this album sounds great. Standout tracks to me are Tree Village and NASA. Buy it!


best overall from Dance Gavin Dance

Most of the screaming is gone. What are left are the dense melodies, shifting tempos, and a more post rock than post-hardcore sound. With all the personnel changes the band has seen since its inception, it's not surprising that they found a new sound. What is surprising, however, is how thoroughly the sound has developed and matured. Where we once had short, 20-second chunks of melody, Happiness pulls the melody throughout the song. It won’t win a lyrical award and Pitchfork didn’t review it, but it’s a solid rock record with big, catchy melodies and tightly controlled, driving guitars. What the earlier records, and Downtown Battle Mountain in particular had in ferocity, Happiness more than compensates for with better songs and a more consonant sound. Several standout tracks with Happiness maybe the best.


so gooooood

download the ENTIRE album to get the full effect. it is amazingly peiced together i looooooove it.....

About Dance Gavin Dance

Volatile post-hardcore outfit Dance Gavin Dance deliver thrashing, emo-leaning anthems performed over the years by a frequently shifting lineup that has featured former members of Farewell Unknown and Ghost Runner on Third. The Sacramento crew originally comprised vocalists Jonny Craig and Jonathan Mess, guitarists Will Swan and Sean O'Sullivan, bassist Eric Lodge, and drummer Matt Mingus. The sextet hooked up with Rise Records in 2006 and debuted that November with the EP Whatever I Say Is Royal Ocean. Their first LP, Downtown Battle Mountain, arrived the next year. Before releasing their self-titled sophomore follow-up in 2008, Craig left the band and was briefly replaced by Kurt Travis. Mess and Lodge also parted ways with the band, with Swan taking over screaming vocals and Jason Ellis as the new bassist. Happiness, their third album, was released in 2009. The lineup changes continued the next year, with Mess and Lodge returning to the band, bringing along guitarist Josh Benton. Jonny Craig returned for a moment, relieving Travis of his vocal duties. That incarnation of the band released Downtown Battle Mountain II, the sequel to their debut. The reunion wouldn't last long, however, as Craig split yet again in 2012. Tilian Pearson (ex-Tides of Man) was brought on in 2013, just in time for their fifth album, Acceptance Speech. Their highest-charting album to date was issued a year later. Instant Gratification peaked at number 32 on the Billboard 200 upon its release in April 2015. The band embarked on a tenth anniversary tour later that year. In 2016, they released their second live album, Tree City Sessions, which included tracks from each of their six albums, and marked the return of Josh Benton on guitar and production duties. That same year saw the arrival of the band's seventh studio long-player, Mothership, which featured the singles "Chucky vs. The Giant Tortoise" and "Betrayed by the Game." The set debuted at 13 on the Billboard 200. After touring ended, they promptly returned to the studio to record a follow-up. Artificial Selection arrived in 2018. The effort featured singles "Son of a Robot" and "Care," as well as guest vocalists Andrew Wells ("Evaporate") and former bandmate Travis ("Shelf Life"). ~ Corey Apar & Neil Z. Yeung

Sacramento, CA




Listeners Also Bought