12 Songs, 50 Minutes


About Xinlisupreme

With blizzards of guitar noise, urgent beats, and looped electronics, Oita, Japan's Xinlisupreme (pronounced zinly supreme) recast My Bloody Valentine, Suicide, and Aphex Twin in a strange genre-assaulting sound that is at times gentle, at times violent, but always unique.

The band, made up of Yasumi Okano and Takayuki Shouji, who trade off on various instruments, was discovered via a demo they sent to FatCat Records, home of such original and revolutionary acts as Sigur Rós, Múm, and Mice Parade. Blown away by the guitar-based music, the label released a single, titled All You Need Is Love Was Not True, in January of 2002. The duo's debut full-length, Tomorrow Never Comes, followed in March of 2002 on FatCat's Splinter series. ~ Charles Spano