10 Songs, 50 Minutes


About Simon Joyner

Cited as a key influence by Conor Oberst (of Bright Eyes) and Beck, Omaha, Nebraska, native and singer/songwriter Simon Joyner has been putting out delicate, intimate, mournful songs since 1993, when the One Hour label released his Room Temperature CD. The Cowardly Traveller Pays His Toll, Heaven's Gate, Songs for the New Year, and Lousy Dance, the EP Christine, and several singles followed through 1999. In 2001, along with his band the Fallen Men, Joyner released To Almost No One, a tribute to ten singer/songwriters, including Paul Siebel, Anne Briggs, Kris Kristofferson, and Jerry Jeff Walker. The bleak but critically lauded Hotel Lives arrived that same year, followed by the equally introspective Lost with the Lights On in 2004. A compilation of singles and rarities, Beautiful Losers, was released in 2006, as was Skeleton Blues from Jagjaguwar. In 2008, Joyner released Cowardly Traveller Pays His Toll on Team Love and Out Into the Snow followed on the same label in 2009. It wouldn't be until 2012 that the normally prolific Joyner would release another album, but that year's double-disc Ghosts saw him backed by a full band. The next year, New Secrets emerged, the second collaboration between Joyner and Shrimper Records founder Dennis Callaci following their 2004 EP Stranger Blues. After a long absence, Joyner returned with the contemplative, downbeat Grass, Branch & Bone in 2015. ~ Gina Boldman

New Orleans, LA
August 9, 1971



Listeners Also Played