22 Songs, 1 Hour 55 Minutes


Ratings and Reviews

4.8 out of 5
38 Ratings
38 Ratings
k dog

About time!

Finally! I have been waiting years to see more of Epica’s albums on itunes!


Negative album review??

Why would iTunes put a negative album review as the first thing you see when you click on Ratings and Reviews for this item? For what it's worth, I totally disagree with the statements that this album is "almost too pretentious to stomach" and that Simone lacks vocal prowess. While I would probably say this is the weakest of Epica's five studio albums, it is still a masterpiece, and they perform many of the songs on their current tours. "Cry for the Moon" in particular seems to be a universal fan favorite.

A magnificent beginning to a magnificent band!

Abel de Jesus

Amazing album,even for a debut

All the ingredience Epica are known for are here,heavy melodic guitar riffs,passionate vocals and a full orchestra! This easily stands up to Epicas later works so dont be taken aback because its their first album.The only album Itunes is missing now is Consign To Oblivion,get that on Epicas website!

About Epica

Originally calling themselves Sahara Dust, Holland's Epica formed in early 2003 when After Forever guitarist Mark Jansen decided to break away from the group he had helped found in order to start an operatic metal project all his own. After drafting teenaged mezzo-soprano Simone Simons, guitarist Ad Sluijter, keyboardist Coen Janssen, bassist Yves Huts, and drummer Jeroen Simons, Epica entered Wolfsburg, Germany's Gate Studio with a classically trained choir and string section to lay down their ambitious debut, The Phantom Agony. Released by Transmission Records in late 2003, the album spawned a number of singles.

The band's early success paved the way for 2005's sophomore LP, Consign to Oblivion, which also charted well in the Netherlands. A move to metal powerhouse Nuclear Blast and the addition of Ariën van Weesenbeek on drums was followed by Epica's first conceptual album, The Divine Conspiracy, released in 2007. It charted across Europe, as did 2009's Design Your Universe, which equaled their best Dutch chart showing at number eight; Design Your Universe also featured a new member, with Isaac Delahaye taking over guitar duties.

Epica's fifth studio album, Requiem for the Indifferent, appeared in 2012. It was the first to chart in the U.K. and U.S., after which another lineup shift found Huts giving way to Rob van der Loo on bass. The band celebrated its tenth anniversary in March 2013 with a special show in Eindhoven, titled and later released as Retrospect, which even featured former members Sluijter, Simons, and Huts. Just a year later, the band issued The Quantum Enigma, its first studio album with Rob van der Loo. Epica's next full-length outing, 2016's Holographic Principle, was described by Simons in an interview with Spark TV as their "most ambitious offering to date." ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

Reuver, Netherlands




Listeners Also Bought