7 Songs, 1 Hour 2 Minutes


About Opus 5

A collaborative New York City-based jazz supergroup formed in the tradition of Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers, Opus 5 is a progressive post-bop quintet featuring players signed to the Criss Cross label. Originally, Opus 5 included saxophonist Seamus Blake, trumpeter Alex Sipiagin, pianist David Kikoski, bassist Boris Kozlov, and drummer Donald Edwards. In 2011, they released their debut full-length album, Introducing Opus 5, followed a year later by Pentasonic. In 2014, Opus 5 released their third studio album, Progression. They quickly returned a year later with another fiery studio session, Tickle. ~ Matt Collar



Listeners Also Played