10 Songs, 40 Minutes


About Canon Blue

Canon Blue is primarily Nashville, Tennessee's Daniel James, whose indie-tronic songs result from interest in electronic acts Boards of Canada and Autechre as well as songwriters Serge Gainsbourg and Nick Drake. His Colonies LP saw a September 2007 release in Europe through the Danish Rumraket label. The record was mixed by Chris Taylor of Grizzly Bear and mastered by noted electronic artist Cristian Vogel. While on tour in Europe, James began work on his next album, recording between shows and working with the Amiina string quartet to expand his sound into more orchestral territories. The result was the lush and eclectic 2011 album Rumspringa, which was released by Temporary Residence. After struggling for several years with worsening bouts of anxiety and depression, James re-emerged in 2017 with his third Canon Blue LP, Lasso Yo, also on Temporary Residence. His most personal record yet, it was performed, recorded, and produced by James, and mixed by Tortoise's John McEntire. ~ Kenyon Hopkin